Basic Gamestore Etiquette- Don’t be a Gamehole.

So last night I was playing in a heroclix tournament at my local game and comics shop when I noticed not one but two instances of a breach in games store etiquette.  This inspired me to type out this blog. I present what I will call the 2 basic rules of game store etiquette.

1-      Keep your opinion of someone else’s fun to yourself. What I mean by this is if someone is taking part in a game you don’t like don’t tell them so. It is none of your damn business.  Last night two different people decided to inject into our games their views on why they dislike heroclix. You know what?  There are a lot of games played at my local game store that I don’t care for.  I don’t like Warmachine, or 40k or any game where you pay 15-20 bucks for a broken figure that isn’t even painted.   I understand that some people get a warm and fuzzy feeling inside when they glue and paint their own figures. It just isn’t for me.  I don’t walk up to their tables where they are playing Warmachine and tell them that. Why not? Because that would make me an asshole. Telling people how much you dislike a game they are enjoying is a dick move.  I don’t care if you think certain clix rules are broken. I don’t care what grievance you have with the game I am playing. If you actually show up and play heroclix regularly then you can at least have room to talk. Otherwise piss off and let me enjoy my rules broken superhero game in peace.

FullBase_800

2-      Don’t walk up and pick up a figure that doesn’t belong to you. Last night some guy that I don’t know walked up to my table and picked up one of my heroclix. I had to bite my lip to keep from letting this guy have it. Leave other people’s stuff alone unless you have permission to touch it. I thought this was the most basic rule that most geeks would understand. Once again this guy didn’t play heroclix and didn’t seem all that interested in it. Regardless it is poor form to touch someone else’s toys. PERIOD!

DC_Heroclix_Crisis_Knightfall_Batman

Everyone gets into games to have fun. Not everyone will enjoy the same thing. People are different. Don’t infringe on someone else’s fun because you think you know it all. Don’t be a gamehole.

One Response to Basic Gamestore Etiquette- Don’t be a Gamehole.

Leave a Reply

