A Spider, An Archer and a Super hero war Oh my!

After a long hiatus I am back and blogging like a secret agent that is staring at a gold laser that is about to melt my private parts….I have no idea where that analogy came from. Moving on!

This past Wednesday saw the debut of the new Hawkeye series being written by Matt Fraction and penciled by David Aja.

As far as writing goes Matt Fraction has always been hit and miss with me.  From what I have read of his stuff I enjoyed his Iron Man work but his Thor stories were awful. I didn’t care too much for his “Fear Itself” event either.  I debated whether or not to pick this up but a review on another site convinced me it was worth a try.

So what was my verdict? It was a cute story that had little to do with super-heroics.  The premise of this book is “This is what Hawkeye does when he is not being an Avenger”.  Poor Clint can’t seem to stay out of trouble. He falls out of a window, and gets into it with some russian Mafia “wanna bes”.  The end of the issue left a warm happy feeling in my heart.   David Aja’s art is gritty and stylized and is perfect for setting the mood of this book.

So how was this as a story. It was good. I wouldn’t call it great. I wouldn’t call it amazing. Just plain good.  Will I be back for a second issue? Probably not.   So in that sense I would say that for me at least it failed.  If you like dogs and comics about an archer that doesn’t use his bow on an off day then this one is for you.

Rating 6 out of 10.

 

Next up we have the ninth issue of this year’s marvel event “Avengers Versus X-Men”.

 

Of all the events to hit comics in the past 10 years I would say that this one is easily my favorite so far. Followed closely by DC’s “Blackest Night”.    I think that part of what has contributed to this event being so good is that Marvel’s top writers all plotted this out together.  This is also a truly stand alone event. Nothing is hinted at that you have to read a tie in issue to understand.   You can just read this mini series and become invested in what is transpiring.  This issues was Spider-Man’s issue to shine.   He does something that is so heroic and so “Spider-Man”!  I loved it!   If you haven’t been following this event you have been missing out.

Rating: 9 out of 10.

 

One Response to A Spider, An Archer and a Super hero war Oh my!

  1. Great post. I have so been wanting to check out avx, spidy just sweetens the deal for me. Thanks for the review– keep it up

Leave a Reply

