Character Fatigue: Wolverine

In the Comic book subculture a lot of people talk about event fatigue. Event fatigue is basically how everyone gets sick of special “Universe spanning epic changing” mini series.  Now I have done my fair share of griping about events over the years but I also suffer from character fatigue regarding certain characters.  In my mind Marvel is the worst about throwing their most popular characters into every book they can. Case in point- Wolverine.

I won’t deny that he is a cool character. He’s short, hairy, has an attitude and has claws that come out of his hands. Not to mention that his healing factor enables him to take massive amounts of abuse.

He must be one of the busiest men in the Marvel Universe.  He is featured in four team books and he has at least two solo ongoing books. Wolvie is also in several minis.  Does Logan ever get a break!?  Wouldn’t it make more sense to put him in  fewer books and make him a commodity then to throw him into everything? I think that when a character is in too many places he loses some of his “specialness”. I remember back in the day the only place to read about Wolverine was in either Uncanny X-Men or his own self titled book.  Within the last couple of years Marvel has placed him everywhere that they could. He’s even an Avenger!

Despite all of my fan griping I still find him to be a fun character. I just wish I didn’t have to see him everywhere.  That is one of the reasons I like Marvel’s Ultimate Universe. Wolverine is very dead there.

Then again what do I know? Books with Wolverine still fly off of the shelves. Marvel is making lots of money while I sit here whining.  Good for you Marvel! Would less Wolverine hurt sales? Wolverine fans do you buy books just because Wolverine is in them?

Leave a Reply

