Watching Stargate Universe is Part of My “Destiny”

stargate-universe1a

To be honest I have never been a huge Stargate fan.  I haven’t seen the original movie. I’ve only watched a few episodes of SG-1 and I’ve only seen the first season and a half of Atlantis on DVD.  When I heard the premise of Stargate Universe I had a bad ST: Voyager flashback. The premise of SGU is that a group of scientists and soldiers are trapped on a ship billions of light years from Earth.  I thought to myself that this show was going to be Stargate’s version of Voyager.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The “crew” aboard the ‘Destiny” have no control over the ship. They are pretty much along for the ride. They also don’t have a lot of supplies or a Doctor. They are a Hodge podge of civilians, scientists, soldiers and cooks. There is no magic machine that makes food for them out of thin air. The characters on this show don’t all get along and there tends to be a lot of interpersonal conflict.  The drama of this show comes mostly from trying to survive.  SGU isn’t”The Alien of the week” kind of show. Nor is there any evil alien race that they are constantly battling.

This show is more about people trying to survive in an extraordinary circumstance. It is an exploration of the human psyche and motivations.  Even though SGU doesn’t have any crazy battle scenes like the previous two SG series it is very intense.  I would argue that it is a lot more intense than SG-1 or Atlantis ever were.  The emotional tone of the series clearly resembles that of the first two seasons of Lost. I suppose that in a lot of ways it is more similar to Lost than it is to any Sci-fi show that I have ever seen.

It airs on Sy Fy every Friday night. Check it out sometime and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

